‘The State of Harmony’ 

On account of the peaceful relations that exist among its multicultural and diverse population of about 2.5 million people. Followers of the three great religious faiths to be found in Nigeria, Islam, Christianity, and traditional coexist within the State.

Kwara State is one of the 36 states that make up the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country. Kwara State shares her boundaries with the Republic of Benin at her West and the Niger River at her North.

The capital city of Kwara State, Ilorin, is situated 306km inland from the coastal town of Lagos and 500km from the federal capital, Abuja. Major towns include Ilorin, Offa, and Jebba, located on the Niger River. Other cities include Patigi, Erin-lIe, lIoffa, Adeleke Igbewere, Ejidongari, Osi, Lafiagi, Gure, Afon, Kaiama, Isanlu-lsin, Omu-Aran, Egbejila, lIota, Iponrin, and Igbaja.

History of Kwara State


The history of Kwara state starts with Ilorin as a Yoruba town which was originally used as a military outpost by the Alaafin, paramount ruler of the old Oyo empire (Oyo-Ile).
At the period of creation, Ilorin was administered by Afonja, the sixth Are-Ona-Kakanfo (generalissimo) of the Oyo army and successor of Are-Ona Oku of Jabata. Illorin became the capital of a kingdom that was a vassal state of the Oyo empire


In 1817, Oyo’s commander at Ilorin, Kakanfo (Field Marshal) Afonja, led a rebellion that destroyed the unity of the empire. He was aided by Mallam Alimi (a Fulani from Sokoto).


The army of the Royal Niger Company arrived in Ilorin after conquering Bida (106 miles east-northeast). The forces of Sir George Goldie’s Royal Niger Company defeated the emirs of Nupe and Ilorin


Ilorin was incorporated into the Protectorate of Northern Nigeria in 1900; in the amalgamated Colony and Protectorate of Nigeria in 1914, and in the Northern region in 1954


Kwara state was created. The then Federal Military Government of General Yakubu Gowon broke the four regions that then constituted the Federation of Nigeria into 12 states.

At its creation, the state was made up of the former Ilorin and Kabba provinces of the then Northern Region and was initially named the West Central State but later changed to “Kwara”, a local name for the River Niger.


In 1991, five local government areas, namely Oyi, Yagba, Okene, Okehi and Kogi were also excised to form part of the new Kogi State, while a sixth, Borgu Local Government Area, was merged with Niger State further reducing the population of Kwara state.

Comments are closed.