Local Government Area is the third tiers in the administrative structure of the Nigerian Government, after the Federal and the State Government. The Local Government tier was established to make the government more accessible and promote good relationship before the government and the governed. There are 774 Local Government Areas in Nigeria and sixteen Local Government Areas from Kwara State.

Each local government area is administered by a Local Government Council. The Council comprises of the Chairman who is the Chief Executive of the LGA, and other elected members who are referred to as Councillors. All members are enjoined by law to meet, as far as practicable, the aspirations of the people who elect them. Committees, focusing on specific issues, play very important roles in the day-to-day business of the Councils. They assist the Councils in decision-making and are usually required to report their discussions to the Councils.

A Local Government Council is the pivot of socio-economic planning and development in its area of authority. Being also the tier of government closest to the people, it is considered a most important facilitator of economic and social development at the grassroots.

The Chairman is normally elected, but can, under special circumstances, also be appointed. He/she supervises the activities of the local government and presides over all meetings of the Council.

The local government councils also work in tandem with the state governments on issues such as:

a. the provision and maintenance of primary education;

b. the development of agriculture and natural resources, other than the exploitation of minerals, and

c. the provision and maintenance of health services.

Local Government Headquarter
Asa  Afon
Baruten  Kosubosu
Edu  Lafiagi
Ekiti  Ilofa
Ifelodun  Share
Ilorin East  Oke-Oyi
Ilorin South  Fufu
Ilorin West  Oja-Oba
Irepodun  Omu-Aran
Isin  Owu-Isin
Kaiama  Kaiama
Moro  Bode-Saadu
Oke-Ero  Araromi-Opin
Offa  Offa
Oyun  Erin-Ile
Patigi  Patigi